2021 Ubora and Ahadi Awards

2021 Ceremony Postponed

The 30th Annual Ubora Award Cereomy, honoring Robert “Cee” Jackson and presenting the Ahadi Youth Award to Tigist Dawit Terefe, has been postponed. New date to be announced.

Presented by African Hall Subcommittee.

Sponsored by
Baystate Health

About the Ubora and Ahadi Awards

Ubora Award LogoThe Ubora Award is presented by the African Hall Subcommittee to an African-American adult who has demonstrated a commitment to the Greater Springfield area and exhibited excellence in the fields of community service, education, science, humanities or the arts. The Swahili word ubora means “excellence.”

Named for the Swahili word for “promise,” the Ahadi Youth Award is presented to a young African-American who has excelled in academics and performed admirable service to the Greater Springfield community. Eligible candidates must be age 19 or younger, live in or have strong ties to the Greater Springfield area, and be currently enrolled in grades 10, 11 or 12.

The African Hall Subcommittee is a volunteer group comprised of educators, business people and community leaders from the African-American community.

The Ubora and Ahadi Awards are presented at a ceremony at the Springfield Museums each September.


Donate to the Ahadi Youth Fund

African Hall Subcommittee

  • Gwendolyn Miller, chair
  • Linda Alston
  • Helen Caulton-Harris
  • Samuel Hanmer
  • Dr. Anthony C. Hill
  • Calvin Hill
  • Sylvia Humphrey-Spann
  • Denise Jordan
  • Kathleen Kane
  • Gwendolyn Miller
  • Donald Mitchell
  • Dr. Ruth S. Njiiri
  • Phyllis K. Osbourne
  • Jamina Scippio-McFadden
Ubora and Ahadi Award Winners 2019
2019 Award winners Andrew R. Cade and Michael Denson Jr.