President's Welcome

Stewards of the Past, Museums for the Future!

Renowned as a unique cultural complex in the heart of downtown, the Springfield Museums have deep roots in the City’s history. However, our five Museums are not only keepers of the past, our Museums are constantly evolving to reach new generations of visitors and ever-expanding audiences.

In June of 2017, the Museums opened the long-awaited Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum. Designed as tribute to Springfield-born icon of children’s literature, Theodor Seuss Geisel, our fifth Museum immerses visitors into a Seussian world filled with his whimsical characters as well as the private


realm of his studio and sitting room. Rooted in interactivity and play, the Dr. Seuss Museum has elevated our Museums to previously unimaginable success. In the first year alone, we increased our visitation by 110% and attracted media attention from across the country and around the world.

But the excitement of opening the Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum is only the beginning. This fall, our MassMutual-funded collaboration with the Smithsonian Institution brought us Spark!Lab, a science education makerspace that will position our Science Museum as the regional center of STEM learning. In addition, exhibitions that include Sweet: A Tasty Journey, The Best of Photographer Elliott Erwitt and our annual Gingerbread House Competition and Exhibition are sure to brighten your holiday season. Be prepared to have fun, learn and make memories as you experience our museum galleries!


Kay Simpson's Signature

Kay Simpson, President


Mission Statement

The Springfield Museums inspire exploration of our connections to art, history and science through outstanding collections, exhibitions and programs.

Vision Statement

The Springfield Museums will be a locally, regionally and nationally recognized museum system known for our diversity of audiences, strength in education, and popular appeal. The success of the Museums will help to transform Springfield. The Museums will be fully staffed, technologically current, well maintained and financially sound.

Guiding Principles

The Springfield Museums is a multidisciplinary organization comprised of five separate museums acting in the public trust, representing the disciplines of art, history, and science.

The Springfield Museums collect, preserve, exhibit and interpret works of art, historical objects, artifacts, specimens, and living collections.  These collections invite public participation and are the basis for research, exhibits and programs.

Grounded in a tradition of public service, the organization holds its collections and information as a benefit for those it was established to serve. Members of its governing authority, employees and volunteers are committed to the interest of these beneficiaries.

The collections of the Springfield Museums represent the community’s natural and cultural common wealth.  As stewards of that wealth, the Springfield Museums strive to advance and foster an informed appreciation of our rich and diverse world. The Springfield Museums also embrace environmental sustainability as a strategic value, balancing economic, social, and environmental factors to prevent negative environmental impacts from our operations.

The Springfield Museums comply with all local, state and federal laws and international conventions of which the United States is a party, as well as with the specific legal standards governing trust responsibilities.

Board of Trustees

  • Kathleen Kane, Chair
  • Francis J. Cataldo, Jr., Vice Chair
  • Cynthia Campbell
  • Helen Caulton‐Harris, mayoral appointed trustee
  • Dr. Mary-Beth Cooper
  • Roger Crandall
  • Jane Engelman
  • Jeffrey I. Fialky, Esq., Assistant Treasurer
  • Heriberto Flores
  • Ellen Freyman, Esq.
  • Dena M. Hall
  • Samuel Hanmer
  • Anthony Hayes
  • Andrew Henshon, Treasurer
  • Dr. Mark Keroack
  • Michael Mathis
  • John M. O’Brien III, CPA
  • Michael J. Oleksak
  • Melinda M. Phelps, Esq.
  • Timothy J. Plante
  • Evan C. Plotkin
  • Richard E. Ryall, Clerk
  • Patrick J. Sullivan, mayoral appointed trustee
  • Mark Teed
  • Anthony Tranghese
  • R. Lyman Wood

Trustee Emeriti

  • David Starr, in memoriam

Senior Staff

Roger Bunce

Manager of Security and Safety

Larissa Murray

Director of Education

Kathleen Simpson


Karen Fisk

Director of Marketing and Communication Strategy

Joanie Muratore-Pallatino

Director of Human Resources

Heather Haskell

Vice President/Director of Art Museums

Heather Cahill

Director of Development

Bernard Spirito

Chief Financial Officer